Milling

I wanted to start milling the boards by cleaning up two sides so that I had something to measure off of.  First I smoothed out the face of the board with my No. 5 Jack Plane.  This is the easy part of this process.  After I had the face nice and flat I started on the edge.  Trying to square up an edge using planes seems a little intimidating at first, but it is pretty easy once you figure out the technique.  With the face flat you can hold a square flush on the face allowing it to touch the edge.  You will be able to see light under the square where the edge is too low.  Simply make a few passes on the high side of the edge and then recheck.  After 10 passes or so you  will probably have a nice square edge to work off of.  I neglected to take a picture of the square technique, but will will next time I do it.  The picture below was taken after I finished planing the face and the edge.

IMG_1345

The next step made me think that I need another saw.  I was using a Warranted Superior panel saw that I picked up at a thrift store.  It was quite dull when I bought it, but I was able to sharpen it up and now it works great (for most projects).   I needed 1×2 boards for the face frame of the shadow box.  The picture below shows the process of ripping the 1x2s from the 2×6 that I found on the crate.  Ripping these boards was very labor intensive.  I think that a saw with bigger teeth would have been helpful for these larger cuts.  One problem that I ran into was that the saw blade tended to track in towards the work bench on the bottom of the board.  As a result, I had to do a lot of correction work with my planes after making the cuts.  I am still trying to figure out the best technique for ripping these boards.  I will  have to do some research on this one.

IMG_1348

Leave a Reply

