Face Frame

When I had finished cutting the boards for the face frame of the shadow box I  was not thinking about a blog, so I don’t have any pictures of the process.  I will take more pictures as I go from now on though.  I used mitered lap joints on the corners for the frame.  The first time I used this type of joint was when I made some cabinet doors.  I took the picture below from a Google search just to show what the joint looks like.  I used my favorite saw for this, the Lie Nielsen Dovetail Saw.  I got pretty close to cutting the miter at a 45 degree angle and then tightened the joint using my smoothing plane.

half-lap-2

Laid out, the frame looks nice and square.  I am not going to glue anything until I have all the parts of the shadow box ready to go.

IMG_1377.JPG

Since I have not moved anymore pictures over from my camera to the computer I will leave you with this sunset view from my last port visit.  Not a bad view!

IMG_1387

I hope everyone is enjoying this blog so far.  It will get better as the project starts to take shape.  Please share this with anyone that you think might be interested.

Leave a Reply

