Having fun with Easter Eggs

This post is about what is going on back home while I am out here.  It has nothing to do with wood working, but I suspect that this one is going to be more popular than most of my wood working posts anyway.

My wife is much better at making sure we do the traditional things during holidays.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy dying Easter Eggs, carving pumpkins, and setting up the Christmas Tree, but my wife is always ready to get started before I am even thinking about it.

For Easter Eggs this year, our boys saw an experiment in one of their science kit books and took it to Mom.  The experiment called for boiling different veggies, fruits, and spices and using the water to dye the eggs.  You can’t do a science experiment without a “Hy-pop-eh-sis” so they made the chart below.

4870ddbd17884c1580223b3bb00bf76e

Here is the picture of how the eggs turned out.  I think they did a pretty good job overall, but it looks like Mom wins this time.  From what I hear, the boys really liked this experiment and have already started thinking about what fruits and veggies they would like to use next year.  I think beets are a must next time.

I love that my wife does things like this with our boys.  What a great way to build their creativity and make learning fun!

bd7d89e809cb47d9b52f6a4b8648c9e2

Leave a Reply

