A little practice

I had a break in the schedule the other day and some scrap wood laying around, so I decided to try a new joint.  I have used dove tails before, but the half blind dove tails looked a little intimidating.  My wife sent me a book all about joinery so I read what it had to say about the joint and then gave it a try.

Cutting the tails was easy, they just don’t go as deep.  I think I will go further than half the thickness of the pin board next time though.  The picture below was taken while removing the waste from the pin board.  It was a lot easier than I thought it would be.

IMG_1822

Here are a couple pictures of the finished joint.  It isn’t perfect, but not too bad for my first time.  Excuse all the nail holes, I was working with some scraps from an old crate.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

